Book Case #3 – Woke Up Dead

This morning I woke up dead

Book and Author Details:
READ THE FIRST CHAPTER FOR FREE BY CLICKING THIS LINK

IF YOU LIKED THE FIRST CHAPTER, Go to Good Reads.. with a chance to win your very own copy!!!! Enter to Win Here

Mindy Larson at Good Reads

Description from Author:
Edited for length of the blog.

This Morning I Woke Up Dead takes you on a journey of discovery as two souls fight against their undeniably difficult situation of being tormented and separated by different realms of existence, proving that those who are destined to be together will not be kept apart by a beating heart.

My Review and Thoughts:

I cried.
Yep, that is exactly how I am going to start this review.

I cried.

It has been a long while since a book, or even a movie, has stirred and affected my soul in a way Mindy Larson’s “This Morning I Woke Up Dead” has managed to do.  I try very hard to stay away from “YA Romance” novels, because they are usually overly written, cheesy and unrealistic. But this one piqued my interest. Death.    Ghosts.   Afterlife. 

With those three things alone, I can over look sap. I was presently surprised to find that the book was lacking sap. 

If you’re the type of book reader who cringes at overly mushy, or over the top, romantic love scenes, then this book is perfect. There are no obnoxious love scenes. There was gentle scenes that made me  mourn painfully for the two main characters.  Their love Is better written than a lot of YA romantic books.

 Mindy does such a fabulous job with the character building and creation, that you become completely immersed into both worlds she has created.  From jump, my heart clung to Dominic’s character. I felt his pain. I wanted to just hug him.

All the other characters that were mixed in with the main character’s  lives were very poetically strung together by Mindy. She really did do a fabulous job of marrying life, after life and seven degrees of separation together. The scenes played out with ease, and I found myself turning page after page without getting lost. 

One of the things I loved the most about this book was her chapter and sentence set ups. She took each chapter from the first view point of either main character; Hadley or Dominic. I loved how I did not have to keep waiting to see what happened like with some authors. Mindy did very well with staying on topic and not straying off course with some unneeded secondary plot outline. It read smooth and enjoyable.

Her sentence structure was impressive too. Some sentences were so simple they only needed one word, but the emotion and impact behind them hit hard.

Example, “Left foot. Right foot. Left. Right.” – I have been here. I have walked those very same steps. I felt the pain and sorrow with each and every letter typed out on the page.

I LOVED the author’s creative take on spiders, crabs, insects. It makes me want to look at them differently too… and Lord knows I hate me some spiders.

Confusing Areas/Negative Aspects:
Towards the end of the book something pretty major happens to one of the supporting characters. The author writes, “He is in custody…..” but does not go into detail about who was brought into custody, what happened specifically to the character, and left it too open. I felt this was the only open ended portion of the book.  I had a feeling whom the author was subtly referring to, but because it was left pretty open I would either elaborate or omit that section.

After discussing this with the author, I was confirmed on who my suspicion thought It was… eager, nosy beaver I am, I want to know details of what happened.

The only other portion of the book that left me scratching my scalp was the variance in worlds; Pre-Earth, Earth, Thereafter. I guess the cycles had me confused, and the After world had me confused. But this is not a negative reflection on this book. Mindy does a beautiful job on everything else within.

Overall View:

Buy this book. .. OR GO TO THE LINK ABOVE TO WIN IT!! But really, it is hauntingly entertaining and romantically entrapping. Make this author well known, so she will put out many more beautifully written books. There are so many ways she can expand on this book. I was excited to find out that she has intentions of making it into a series. I will definitely be following her for updates.

Buy the Book at these Locations:

This Morning I Woke Up Dead” – Mindy Larson

Book at GoodReads
Book at Barns and Nobles

2 responses to “Book Case #3 – Woke Up Dead

  1. Pingback: Book Case #59 – The Beginning of the End | Haunted Book Case

  2. Pingback: Book Giveaway | Haunted Book Case

Leave a Reply

