Book Case #8 – Kergulen

Book and Author Details:
R.A. White
Kergulen on GoodReads

Kergulen on Amazon

Description from Author:

A girl with the eyes of a witch escapes her abusive master, but instead of a happy ending she finds Kergulen, a land where the monsters are only slightly more terrifying than the people. As she struggles to stay alive in this new country, Rima must master the capacity for inner freedom and true friendship if she hopes to create a life worth living.

Rima is not a typical heroine; her misadventures involve universal issues such as racism and self-doubt, but also include the occasional monster or dragon. The entire Kergulenite forest works in harmony to keep Kergulen’s secrets safe from Rima and the rest of the world.

Will uncovering Kergulen’s mysteries give Rima the freedom she dreams of, or will she be condemned because she knows too much?

Positive Thoughts:
I really enjoyed this book. I am not sure why it is listed as 600+ pages, as the copy I received was only 308, but I read it none the less.  It took a bit to read it, as fantasy is not my usual genre to read.  I received an email from the author, R.A. White, asking if I would review the book. I was honored she would asked, so I agreed to do so.

This book was very creative; think Cinderella meets Game of Thrones.

I loved the fact that there were so many radical differences from one culture to the next; contractions vs. no contractions in speaking. 

The characters were engaging. I fell in love with Rima, the main character, the moment she stepped foot off of her farm. I loved her giddiness and childish antics.  What I loved more, however, was watching her mature and grow. I felt her pain, my heart cried, rejoiced, and angered at the injustices she went through.

I absolutely fell in love with Lily, the “mom” character. She reminds me very much of a woman close to my own heart. The whole family that took Rima in was so well written, it could be a number of wonderful families I know in real life. 

R. A. White does such a wonderful job of creating scenes that pulls the reader into it. Everything from violent uprising to heartbreaking deaths.

Negative Thoughts:
I am not sure if I did in fact receive a shortened copy to review, it being only 308 pages, but I feel the book has a couple “negatives” about it. I really feel there were areas of the book that weren’t expanded on enough and some areas were over written. Sure, she’s had a hard time.. I get that. But her insecure, almost childish, way about it got tiring. Buck up Rima! You’ve survived this long, so far, you’ll survive so much more.

A. I feel like it’s unfinished. I don’t know if that means the author is going to write  a sequel, because if so, hurry! Otherwise, it’s really left open with SO many questions. I would love to know what happened to the poachers, dragons and the truce. I want to know what this kingdom was that Rima was venturing too at the end. I want to know what the heck happened to Yori and Mrinda.

B. I feel like it could probably generate more sales if it were broken into a few different, shorter, stories.
First story being Rima, her abusive master, her escape all the way up until she reaches Nene.
Second, Nene, the rulings, house guests, and the beginning of adjustment.
Third, fires, riots and Pitr.
Four, more rulings, training, and adventure.
Five, dragons!
Catch what I’m saying here? It was a long novel, to break it up could generate more interest in the book. Too long of a novel can grow boring. But as you can see, I have many questions that would lead me to pick up the next book in a series to answer those questions.

Overall Feeling:
I love this book. The author did a wonderful job constructing a mythical land with races, cultures, and dragons. It’s creative, thought out and highly entertaining.

 

emailbooks

Leave a Reply

