Book Case #12 – Cause of Death

0f0e8475950fe7df6b2a6a824ef70f48969d35a5

Book and Author Details:
Author’s Website
Author on Facebook
Cause of Death on Amazon
Cause of Death on Smashwords

Description from Author:

A Serial Killer. Black widow spiders. A race to catch the perp before he strikes again. Imagine if J.A. Konrath and Janet Evanovich sat down to write about the ultimate female detective fighting against time to catch a serial killer in Bakersfield, CA before he strikes again. Meet Robbery/Homicide Detective Annie Avants and her partner, Detective Tom Weston of the Kern County Sheriff’s Office.
 
In this dusty farm community, someone is abducting and killing young Hispanic females. His weapon of choice – black widow spiders.

Can these two dedicated Detectives catch him with the help of their peers and friends, Deputy District Attorney Jesse Greyeyes and Technical Investigations Chief Laine DelMonte.

Cause of Death is a spine-chilling thriller that keeps you guessing right up to the last minute – and makes you wonder about the “normal” people in YOUR daily life.

My Review:
I wanted something to read over the weekend. I have quite a few ARC copies to read and review, but I wanted something quick. This book features only 198 pages, so I figured what the heck… I could knock it out in two days. As soon as I picked it up, I could not put it down. I found myself driving my fiance’ crazy reading well into the wee hours of the morning (he’s forever bothered by the light from my ereader… too bad, a bookaholic has to get a fix every now and then.) 

Serial Killer… check.
Detective Team… check.
Well written and captivating, for the most part… check.

I enjoyed the characters. I enjoyed the character development. I absolutely loved the investigation side of the novel. It was well researched and presented in an alluring way.

CREEPY CREEPY Ingenious way of killing victims! I have read many serial killer books, and I have to say black widow spiders… Ew!!!! Very, very creatively creepy. It’s the main thing that kept me reading. I really wish I could have read more about the killer.

Negatives:
Too many subplots… not enough of the serial killer’s view point.
I really feel the author could either cut out some of the subplots or expand on the killer’s viewpoint and make a longer novel. I found my self frustrated and skipping through pages when it came to the love triangles in the book;
Annie & Jessie.
Tom & Laine.

Then to add in the weird gang related character development of a Noura, Tito and courts? Really took away from story itself. I would rather have read something along the view points of the killer.

In example, at the end of the book we find out the killer had a journal he kept during his “experimentation process.” I WOULD LOVED TO HAVE SEEN “PAGES” of his book. The author was so quick to describe how and when the killer decided to start kidnapping Hispanic women. It was so brief. She really could have expanded this section and made the book a bit more suspenseful and entertaining.

Overall Feeling:
This was the perfect book to read on a rainy 3 day weekend. I am thankful a review copy was sent my way. I think it could be a bit more engaging with some reworking around the killer’s view point. I also think it needs less of the love triangle/personal conflicts of the characters; especially revolving around Tito/Noura. 

Leave a Reply

