Book Case #13 – Alex

Book and Author Details:
Author’s Website
Author on Facebook
Alex on Amazon
Alex on GoodReads
Alex on Smashwords

Description from Author:

Alex is twenty and confused. He always is. The world presses on him with its horrors and pain, with scintillating auras that pierce his eyes and drive the migraines deeper. He hears the cries of children, the screaming women. He sees the brutal images of the tortured victims. He feels out of control and his mind slips…

Severely abused as a child, he is left with horrible scars on his body and even worse scars within his mind. Even though it puts him in danger, he’s compelled to help those who call to him. He’s driven, motivated by his visions to rescue them and uncover the killer. When he can, he helps the police; yet some detectives suspect he’s the cause of the problem, not the solution. Often, Alex finds himself alone and afraid in a world he doesn’t always comprehend.

My Review:
I am totally torn on how many ‘stars’ to give this book. It was engaging. The book was well written. The topic is right on queue for me. Psychics, paranormal, serial killer… It was really a fun read. But, I felt really disconnected to it. I wanted this to be a deep connection, one that would cause me to run to the book and turn pages with heated ambition. But, I found myself reading the book to escape life and because… I felt I had to.

I was fascinated with the flashbacks in Alex’s life. I would love to have learned more about how he came to Jane’s house, their family interactions growing up, etc. Coming from an abusive past, I felt that the author did a wonderful job portraying the lifestyle of abuse (That’s a queer statement to write. Because abuse is not wonderful at all!). I guess I am saying that I have read other abusive based books and had triggers throughout it. The way Dianne had written the scenes were pretty well done.

Negatives (I am trying to stay somewhat vague as to not ruin it if someone decides to read it):
1.  It took FOREVER to get to the end.  I really wanted to know about his psychic abilities. I wanted to know when he started getting them. I wanted to know more about his mental hospital stay. I wanted to know about ALEX.. it is the title of the book. I was disappointed when the end didn’t really cover much.

2. This has got to be THE MOST unlucky person on the planet. Alex has had kidnappings (not one, but multiple), abuse, cuts, knifes, guns, all kind of crazy things happen to him…. and most if it happens in a couple month time span. I just makes it kind of hard to believe. He has so many enemies, and I get why, but I think the story could have flowed  a little better with only one major enemy after him. I felt it was somewhat confusing when the author added the police officer into the mix.

3. The relationship between Jane and Alex disturbed me. I felt very much like Creg did…. why didn’t she just adopt him instead of marrying him. To me, it was almost like instead of a mom kissing his wounded knee, she had sex with him. I got the unbridled passion between the two, especially growing up together. I just didn’t understand why every time something bad happened, they shagged. A relationship is more than just sex.  Which made it another reason it was kind of hard to believe, or get into.

4. Helen. Who the heck was this character. She physically assaults Alex. Yells at him that she remembers who he was. Goes on some tirade about the mental hospital…… and she’s a psychic too. If there was a deeper psychic connection, she should have really been written into the book more, or had Alex’s mental hospital stay exposed more.

Overall Feeling:
This wasn’t the greatest book, but it was creative. It was mid-line for me. It was a book I thought sounded interesting, but if it was not for the review required for it, I probably would have put it down and picked it up to finish it when I ran out of things to read. I do not want the author to think I am slamming her book. It truly is well written. It was just long and hard to really “bite” into it.

If I had to do a star system, 3 1/2  stars.

Leave a Reply

