Conversation with an Author.

I don’t have a fancy eReader. I have what I could afford. I am fully aware I need an upgrade, but at the moment I bought my eReader, I was still on the fence about them. I am a book lover. BOOK lover. The smell. The feel. Dog earring corners, underlining passages, breaking the spine, BOOK LOVER. 

So, I dipped my toes into the water and bought a cheap eReader around Christmas time. I told myself I would give it a year before upgrading or just keeping it as is. I have now found myself in a conundrum.

The eReader I purchased was a $50.00 Pandigital. It’s worthless. It claims to be run by android, but Google app store does not recognize the eReader/Pandigital. I cannot download any app to convert epud/book files so that they’re compatible and readable on this device. Most independent authors are pretty stellar. Most of them have .pdf files, which is all I can read on this Pandigital, that are ARC (Author Review Copies) available to send in email. I am honest. I do honest reviews with the copies I receive. I do not share them. It’s a win/win scenarios. Independent authors get their name out there, their work read, and reviewers have a chance at reading a newer book.

I am realizing that more and more authors are going digital. Actual paper/hard back books are becoming obsolete. I realize I am going to have to upgrade, but I won’t be forced into it by authors. Today, I had an uncomfortable back and forth with an author.

Back history before the conversation:

I belong to a group called “Making Connections” on Good Reads and Facebook.

It’s a author/review group on FB so authors can have their books read and reviewed. This is BIG for independent authors, as reviewers are the servers to the meat they provide.  Authors will post information about their book(s), and the reader says, “Hey I’m interested! I’ll read it for review” and the author or publisher will send over an ARC copy (author review copay) or PRC (publisher review copay).

This guy posted information about his story.
I said, “heya..”

He added me. This is how the conversation went down:

Author:  Description of books.

Me: What genre of books?

Author: Crime, espionage, romance, short stories (various styles).
Check out the website for a free preview of all my work: http://www.nealjames.webs.com

Me: I write reviews for amazon, goodreads, smashwords when appropriate, and my blog: https://hauntedbookcase.wordpress.com 
I’d be interested in reviewing your work, if you’d be willing to send .pdf files?
My eReader is a Pandigital, it’s crap and only reads .PDFs.

Author: Never mind – thanks anyway.
Author again 20 seconds later:  P.S. A thought – you could still be involved if any of your friends have the Apple eReader.

Me: For kicks and giggles, Google, “Goldendale, WA.” We’re a very small farming community. It’s 1-2 hrs in either direction to any major store. Most of the people here do not even know how to turn a computer on, let a lone have an Apple eReader. I’m doing what I can with what I have available. It’s okay though. Your work sounded interesting.

Author: Cheers

Let let me get this right. YOU want ME to go to a friend’s house, borrow their Apple Reader, just so I can read YOUR work…

Why not provide an ARC copy in various formats to review, like EVERY OTHER INDEPENDENT AUTHOR DOES?

Here’s where my problem lies in. I have been hearing over and over again about Independent authors being rude and dismissing when it comes to their books. What these authors are failing to understand is that the reviewer is really their livelihood. Without readers, their stories would never truly be told. They can pen the details. They can coin the phrases. But without that ONE reader who falls in love with it and boasts from their blogospheres about how amazing it is, their work will go unnoticed.

I recently had an interview for an article upcoming on IndieReader by Ingrid Ricks. Because I do not want this to mirror what she is writing, I will leave you to go check it out when it comes out. 

BE NICE to your readers.
BE NICE to those who express interest.
DO NOT be picky and choosy and segregate.

I read a lot of books. A LOT.  As do a lot of my friends. I belong to a lot of groups on facebook that are book oriented. I belong to author/review sites on GoodReads.

As a friend said on facebook, “I had a couple of weird ones, but I’ve seen a couple explode in fellows’ faces. There’s this unspoken rule of conduct for both parties and a lot of those authors just don’t grasp that.” John.

2 responses to “Conversation with an Author.

  1. Pingback: Conversation with an Author. | Sexy Curves Required

  2. Pingback: Conversation with an Author. | Sexy Curves Required

Leave a Reply

