Book Case #33 – Witches, Stitches and Bitches

wsbCoverMED

Witches, Stitches, and Bitches on Facebook.

Book and Author Details:
Witches, Stitches and Bitches: Amazon
Witches, Stitches and Bitches: Good Reads
Evil Girlfriend Media – Publishing Company
Evil Girlfriend Media – Facebook

Description from Author:

Exquisite revenge and knitted doppelgängers; heartbreak and happy endings; unicorns, doomed dogs, and penitent frogs; steampunk fairies, conflicted stepmothers, and baseball—you’ll find it all here. Our literary alchemists weave a spell of fascination, drawing you deeper and deeper, tale by tale, until escape is impossible. But you’ll enjoy every minute of the plunge.

These sixteen deft and delightful stories involving witches, stitches, and bitches run the gamut from darkly disturbing to just plain fun. They will each take you out of the ordinary and into the world of magic, where older, weirder, or merely other rules apply. And just when you think things are all sewn up… some bitch may have a surprise for you.

Includes stories by Gabrielle Harbowy, Caren Gussoff, Kodiak Julian, and Christine Morgan, among others.

My Review:
I reached out to author Stephanie Bissette-Roark in the beginning of September after reading a synopsis of her writing on Facebook. I found out that her introductory snippet was actually a part of a larger book, “Witches, Stitches and Bitches” and anthology produced by up and coming publishing company by the name of Evil Girlfriend Media.

I discovered EGM when utilizing facebook’s new “stalker mode” and having it pop up on my feed from an author friend. I went to their page and scoped them out, eventually leading me to their website. I kind of forgotten about them until I came across a feed that produced a few pictures with cleverly placed snippet from the book “Witches, Stitches and Bitches.” … A paranormal based anthology… says what!?

I sent a request to Stephanie Bissette-Roark for a potential ARC of this book. She then passed it onto her publisher, and I received a copy in my E-mail. I was so stoked!

This book is the perfect gateway from Summer to the cool, crisp autumn nights in October. I was able to curl up and instantly felt the spell it cast over me. ( *wink wink* ) I sunk deeper and deeper into these short stories.

As with all short story anthologies, this book featured incredibly strong, well written stories and some that I found myself skimming through just to get an idea for my review. Listed below are my top three favorite stories:

“Urgent Care” by Christine Morgan

“Spare Parts” by Stephanie Bissette-Roark (This is not because of the ARC..it truly is a creative and entertaining story.)

“Three Gateways” by Eva Langston

I am very excited about this introductory book from Evil Girlfriend Media, even more excited about the up and coming anthologies as well. This is beginning a strange, twisted, creepy, gory road for a kick ass idea. I look forward to wrapping my mind, and hands, around whatever they produce.

Next from Evil Girlfriend Media: 

Roms, Bombs and Zoms – In November 2013, find out what happens when 17 writers create stories with romance, bombs, and zombies.

For your viewing pleasure, here are some video promotions for stories from “Witches, Stitches and Bitches.”



2 responses to “Book Case #33 – Witches, Stitches and Bitches

  1. Pingback: Book Case #41 – Roms, Bombs and Zoms. | Haunted Book Case

  2. Pingback: Book Case #67 – Stamps, Vamps and Tramps. | Haunted Book Case

Leave a Reply

