Book Case #34 – Once Upon a Lie

To Be Released December 2013

Book and Author Details:
Once Upon a Lie on Net Galley
Maggie Barbieri Author Website
Maggie Barbieri Author Facebook
St. Martin’s Publishing

My Review:

I received “Once Upon a Lie” from Net Galley for review.

I hate leaving bad reviews, but, I just found this one boring and bland.

“Once Upon a Lie” totally sounded like something I could devour over a weekend’s time. No. Go.

UGH!!!! I wanted so bad for this to be a fantastic book, I truly did. I have read some great reviews on Net Galley. I am incredibly disappointed with this novel. Even if I do not like a book, I try my best to go from beginning to end. This is one of those few gems I just could not continue on with. 

I skipped the first chapter entirely. It read like a bunch of long winded words thrown together without a common denominator, a common theme, a thread of thought. It wasn’t until the main character, Maeve Conlon, got to her child’s soccer game that it picked up… just… a little. I skimmed through the trite back and forth between Maeve and her ex-husband. The author wrote her as a stubborn, stuck up, jaded ex wife.

The book sounds like a soccer mom’s whoa’s in life with a little murder thrown in. There are few morsels in between a lot of whining emotional situations. I ended just shy of her cousin Sean’s wake/funeral. I just couldn’t go on. I apologize to the author. I am sure she’s a very creative, clever author. But I just couldn’t see the “humor and wit” mentioned in other reviews. I found it boring and hard to trudge through.

Description from Author:

Maeve Conlon’s life is coming apart at the seams. Her bakery is barely making ends meet, and one of her daughters spends as much time grounded as the other does studying. Her ex-husband has a new wife, a new baby, and a look of pity for Maeve that’s absolutely infuriating. Her father insists he’s still independent, but he’s slowly and obviously succumbing to Alzheimer’s. And now, her cousin Sean Donovan has been found dead, sitting in his car in a public park, shot through the head.

There was never much love lost between Maeve and Sean and she’s not exactly devastated by his death, but suddenly the police are poking around asking the family questions. It’s just one more hassle Maeve doesn’t have time for, until she realizes that her father, whose memory and judgment are unreliable at best, is a suspect in the murder. Maeve is determined to clear his name, but is she prepared to cope with the dark memories and long-hidden secrets that doing so might dredge up?

Maggie Barbieri will mesmerize readers with Once Upon a Lie, a gripping novel about family, justice, and the choices we make that define who we are.

signature_eltWoesobs5957

Leave a Reply

