Book Case #39 – Dead Heat

 Dead Heat



Book and Author Details:

Dead Heat at Amazon
Dead Heat at Good Reads
Dead Heat on Smashwords
Author Lisa Nowak’s Facebook
Author Lisa Nowak’s Website

My Review:

Most poignant sentence in this whole fantastic book was one of the sentences towards the end. “… And it hits me that there ain’t no easy answers. All we can do is let ourselves off the hook.”

Addendum: Because I cannot stop thinking about this book. I wanted to add the following:

At first, as a Grammar Junkie, I was really appalled by the language of Alex. This was not just when he was speaking, but the narrative in his head as Lisa Nowak, Author had written it.

Then, I stepped back and realized that Lisa needs to be praised for her writing ability. She kept the character flow, in and out of his mind. He couldn’t read and his speech processes were incredibly broken, just as the reality of someone who cannot read or write. When you add all that into his family lifestyle, rendering and inability to read… Not only did she paint a beautiful, strong character… she drove home the point. I was quickly able to lower my hackles and enjoy the story for what it was. 

It has been a long time since I’ve picked up a book and ripped through it in mere hours; no bathroom break, no drink, no coffee, no walking the dogs. Just me, my bed and my trio (snoring fiance’ and two snoring pugs). I was mesmerized and 100% trapped in the life of Alex. I have been there, more along the lines of Jade’s life, but I have been there. Those kinds of wounds never truly heal. This is supposed to be a paranormal thriller/mystery book. It is not supposed to make me cry. 

But I am not disappointed. I am quite the opposite. 

In the beginning of the book the author writes about an how agent declines her story telling her that, “teenagers want edgy.” To spite that agent, Lisa Nowak sets out to write edgy… in turn she writes an effin brilliant myriad of edgy, haunted, emotionally written words that pulls a person into their memories like faint scent from yesteryear. 

Alex is a 15-year-old young man. He’s calm spirited, hurt, low self esteem, angry, and loyal… loyal to a fault…loyal to a blessing.  He has this gift where he can touch a machine and know exactly what is wrong with it.
Alex’s mother is disabled. She is afraid. She is quiet. She is broken in every sense of the word.
Alex’s father is a waste of human flesh, breath, and the glue that holds us all together. He’s a meth addict.He’s abusive to the point of scarring both mom and Alex. (Anyone who knows me in real life, outside of this blog, know I firmly believe that ALL meth addicts need to be taken to a remote island in the middle of know where left to fend for themselves like the zombies they are.) <— that should sum it up for you. 

Alex meets Cole… the only decent person, aside from his mother, who mentors him, guides him, teaches him… most of all.. loves him unconditionally. Then Cole dies.

There’s a whole mess of other characters…and trust me.. this book IS SO WORTH BUYING, READING, OWNING…

I put the book down after finishing it around Midnight. I laid there thinking about Alex and the characters in the book.  I laid there thinking, “If I knew that agent who told Lisa to go write something edgy, I’d give him a big, bold kiss on the lips (Or her…not sure of the gender).  This was the best advice he gave this author, because in turn she has written one of the strongest, awesome, well written novels I have read this year.

Description from Author:

Alex is a machine whisperer. He can tell what’s wrong with a broken-down car with a touch. But his gift can’t save him from the brutality of his meth-addict father. For two years, Alex experienced kindness through Cole, his mentor. Now Cole’s dead, and the violence in Alex’s life is escalating.

When Cole reappears as a ghost, Alex clings to the tenuous link. Then he learns Cole might’ve sacrificed his chance to cross over. Jade, the first girl to look beyond Alex’s past, assures him Cole can reach the Other Side-if Alex escapes from his dad. But a previous terrifying attempt has convinced Alex it’s impossible. Unless he can find the courage to try, his friend may be earthbound forever.

signature_eltWoesobs5957

Leave a Reply

