Book Case #42 – Desperate


Book and Author Details:
Desperate on Good Reads
Desperate on Amazon
Desperate on Facebook
Desperate on Smash Words
Author Christine Wilkinson’s Website

Description from Author:

A well-respected husband manipulates a small town into believing his abused wife causes her own injuries. Ten brutal years later, he murders her father and claims it was her during one of her violent rages. Having nothing left to lose, she escapes and finds refuge with a local cop whose secret could destroy her delicate trust in him, as well as her freedom. Will she be able to prove her innocence, and her husband’s guilt, before he finds her?

My Review:

So much to say about this book, both negative and positive. For the most part, this book was pretty good. This is author Christine Wilkinson’s debut novel, and not a bad one at that. It is creative with a great descriptive aspect and a solid suspense outline. She did well with keeping the reader tuned in and turning pages. I started the book last night with the intent of getting at least the first couple chapters at out of the way. I just kept turning pages. Somewhere around a quarter to 2am, I had reached the end. 

My first observation of the book is a possible reflection of the author. The details in the abuse (physical, emotional, verbal, and especially sexual) were so real and raw I hope that she did not write from a more personal point of view. This book definitely needs to come with *trigger* warnings!  It was really very real, from the abuse to the scars and damage done; both physical and emotional. The author captured the victim, Eris, so well as a real, viable victim.

Christine also did well at painting a sociopath, psychotic individual rather well too. I hated Eris’ husband from the first page he was written on.

The events that lead up to the deaths in the book, the twists and turns, gripped the reader’s view incredibly well. However, with that said, I have two negatives about the book.

Negative Impressions

First negative impression was that of a woman who suffered(s) 10 years of severe, crippling abuse who runs right into the arms of another man. I think even the author, Christine, might have sensed that about the book while she was writing it. There were numerous moments were she implied from Eris’ point of view, “What am I doing? Why am I so attracted to this man?” etc. I personally cannot see a horrifically abused woman less than 24 hours after her escape cling to the body warmth given by another man.

Well, wait.. I guess maybe I can. The main character was so starved for any compassion, love, kindness… I can see her slipping quickly into another relationship scenario.

Second negative impression stems from the first one; all the sexual interludes. I found myself skipping pages to just get through the sex scenes. I am not a prude. I do enjoy a tasteful, classy written sex scene, but not every other page. The middle of the book was a plethora of various sex scenes. I just found it awkward to read, because in the back of my mind I kept thinking, “No woman who escaped that kind of abuse would do this.”

But, then again… I guess I can see where she would. I think a few of the sex scenes were vital in the mental impression the author wanted to present Eris as. Sex is trust. Sex is giving and taking. The sex scene with Eris’ first orgasm was a crucial, imperative plot point for Eris.

Overall, this is a well written, very creative book. I want to thank the author, Christine Wilkinson, for sending an author review copy. It will forever have a home on my Haunted Book Case at home.

signature_eltWoesobs5957

One response to “Book Case #42 – Desperate

  1. Pingback: Book Case #47 – Inhibited | Haunted Book Case

Leave a Reply

