Book Case #55 – 3 Gates of the Dead

One of the entries in the filmmaker competition hosted on the author’s site:

Author & Publisher Information:
3 Gates on Amazon
3 Gates on Good Reads
Author’s Website
Author on Facebook
Publisher/Agent’s Website

Description:

Sometimes, the most evil things come from the most holy…

Conflicted with his faith in God and the hypocrisy of the church, Aidan Schaeffer, a young assistant pastor, is in a constant state of spiritual turmoil. When Aidan learns that his ex-fiancée is the first victim in a string of ritualistic killings, he finds himself in the middle of an even deeper fight. Tormented by demonic threats and haunted by spirits, Aidan throws himself into investigating Amanda’s death; all the while supernatural forces have begun to attack the people around him. The more questions he asks, the more he is drawn into the world of a mysterious Anglican priest, a paranormal investigation group and a rogue female detective investigating the murders. As the gruesome rituals escalate, ancient hidden secrets and an evil long buried threaten to rip Aidan’s world apart.

My Review:
So, there’s a lot of killer things going on with this book. I first found it on Good Reads under their book giveaway section. I entered, but went ahead and contacted the author regarding this book. I had to read it. It had evil spirits, religious matters, ghost hunters, death, murders… I mean come on all my favorite topics between two pages, I was interested to say the least. I received a response with download to a review copy. I am so glad I pursued it after the contest entry.

Aidan is torn between his scientific degree and pastoral studies, the assistant pastor has found himself in the middle of a religious whirlwind with him standing in the eye. He does not believe in God anymore after being witness to greed, arrogance, hypocrisy and all things a church is not supposed to represent. Now, he’s called into the police station after his ex-fiance’ was found brutally murdered.

Everything in his life has spiraled out of control, starting with the death of his parents a year prior. He then finds himself thrusted into a spiritual war. Will he be able to put his love for his deceased fiance’, his progressing lack of faith in God, and his personal conflicts aside to assist Detective Jennifer Brown in finding the answers to who is committing the murders in Ohio? Will his new found friends, a paranormal team with the assistance by Father Neal, help him find God again?

Such an INCREDIBLE book and very well written. I was captivated by the story line. I was in love with the characters, especially Aiden. I felt his internal fight grow each day with his losing God and belief of him. I have been there. I related so much to how it was vividly described by Jonathan Ryan.

I cannot wait for book two and I hope that am on that list to receive an ARC copy.

signature_eltWoesobs5957

Leave a Reply

