Book Case #77 – Burnt Tongues

41tGqYj0TAL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Book and Author Details:
Burnt Tongues on Good Reads
Burnt Tongues on Amazon
Burnt Tongues on Medallion Publishing

Description from Author:

Transgressive fiction authors write stories some are afraid to tell. Stories with taboo subjects, unique voices, shocking images—nothing safe or dry.

Burnt Tongues is a collection of transgressive stories selected by a rigorous nomination and vetting process and hand-selected by Chuck Palahniuk, author of Fight Club, as the best of The Cult workshop.

These stories run the gamut from horrific and fantastic to humorous and touching, but each leaves a lasting impression.

Some may say even a scar.

My Review:
As a reviewer, I find it rather disheartening that an author who contributed to this anthology has gone out of their way to defensively retort a reader’s review.

I have had authors offer books for review, and then get incredibly verbal when I did not enjoy their book. I have been ripped apart in the most passive aggressive, downright stalkerish manner, because an author didn’t like my review.

One of the fantastic things about creating an “art” and putting it into the world, is that you will have fans and you will have haters. It’s not a good thing to hunt down and rally against the readers who do not enjoy your writing, the book, or your “art”.

I received advance copy of this book  and finished it a couple months ago. I have been attempting to review it. I have had it in queue for some time now, but waivered on whether I should post a review; especially after reading that one of the authors has gone out of his way to comment a reviewer’s dislike of the book. I’m almost second guessing posting it on Good Reads (where the author does the defensive attacking), on amazon and my blog.

The gist is, not everyone is going to like your book, your art, or your stories. It does not behoove an author, artist, creative type to seek out and try to debate a critic’s view point. With all of this said and done, My review is simple…

I was looking forward to this book, but found a lot of the stories a bit more out there than I had envisioned with approached to read and review it. There are some cathartic, interesting and entertaining stories in this anthology. This does not make me a crappy reviewer. This does not make me anything other than a person who wasn’t fond of this book. There are a few authors who are trying to pen their stories in the same manner that Chuck Palahniuk does, and they simply cannot surmount or mimic.

Some of the stories struck an emotional core, some of the severely bored me enough to skip through them. I read the book twice. First, I bounced around finding something that caught my eye. Second, from front to back.  My review is going to be midline, 3 stars. It just didn’t catch my attention in the manner I had hoped it would.

Transgressive Fiction Trade Paperback US $14.95 /
CDN ISBN# 9781605427348 .

One response to “Book Case #77 – Burnt Tongues

  1. Pingback: This is what happens when some author’s can’t handle reviews. | Haunted Book Case

Leave a Reply

