Book Case #83 – Time of Death

ToD1-Induction-Cover-Final-MED

Book and Author Details:
Time of Death – Good Reads
Time of Death – Amazon
Shana Festa – Author Website
Shana Fest – Author Facebook
Time of Death – Permuted Press

Description from Author:

When no one or nowhere is safe, where do you go to escape the monsters?

In a few short days, 37 year old Emma Rossi’s hard work will finally pay off. She will don her cap and gown and graduate with a degree in nursing, but not before she loses her first patient and is confronted with a new reality. In Cape Coral, Florida, a storm approaches. The dead are coming back to life.

And they’re hungry.

Infection ravages the Eastern Seaboard with alarming speed while attempts to contain the spread of infection fail. Within days, a small pocket of panicked survivors are all that remain of civilization. Fighting to survive the zombie apocalypse alongside her husband Jake and their dog Daphne, Emma comes face-to-face with her worst nightmare.

Relying on snarky wit and sheer determination, she is forced to commit atrocious acts to protect her family and avoid joining the ranks of the undead.

My Review:
I received this book from the author, Shana Festa, in exchange for my honest review. This is the first book in a series with zombie-apocalypse being the plot line. I have had a huge flux of zombie ARC copies for review. Most of these novels are darker horror with a strong gore content. Time of Death is actually a bit lighter with a bit of snarky, dry humor. I enjoyed the humor.

The main character, Emma, a nursing student, finds herself in the middle of a zombie virus that has taken out most of civilization. She is set forth, with her ex-military husband and their dog Daphne, to survive and make it through. She uses quick quips and humor to manage through the chaos and horror taking place around her. Survival, zombies, scavenging,fighting both the living and the undead; will Emma, her husband and their dog pull through?

Pros: 
The humor, as mentioned above. I connected with the main character for the most part. The story is almost not stop action packed. The author does a wonderful job in the description process of each event, fight and survival. Truly, there were no holds barred. I was left questioning who was going to survive and who was going to be killed off.

Shana’s writing strength shows well enough for this being her first novel. Grammar was strong. Spelling and punctuation were good. There were only a few areas of editing needed. This was a great first novel. It is a quick read that I was able to get through in one night. 

In the almost over done narrative of zombies, apocalypse and survival, Shana’s novel has its place among the shelves. 

Cons:
There were some decisions she made that left me in a bit of a quandary. The conflict over saving her dog or saving her husband had me be really confused. I mean, I love my dogs and I’ll fight tooth and nail for them, but if I had a husband, I’d probably fight harder for him.

There were a few areas that seemed to drag on with description, survival fights, and redundancy. I found myself reading slower, losing interest and pushing myself towards the end of the book.

All in all, this is a good book. It opens the gateway to the rest of the series, which is something I’m going to look into. Intense and gripping. Gore factor manageable. 

Leave a Reply

